Nicol - Brown Amateur Invitational

The 11th Nicol-Brown Amateur Invitational
Piping Competition

Saturday, December 11, 1993
First Church of Christ Congregational
West Hartford, Connecticut

Judges: George M. Bell and Donald F. Lindsay

Overall Nicol-Brown Championship

  1. Paula Glendinning
    Prize: Airfare to compete at the B.C. Indoor in Vancouver in April 1994, donated by St. Patrick’s Pipe Band of Glastonbury, Connecticut.
  2. James P. Troy

Robert Nicol-Robert Brown Chalice for Piobaireachd

  1. Paula Glendinning (“The Desperate Battle”)
  2. James P. Troy (“The MacLeods’ Salute”)
  3. Catriona Hill (“The Rout of Glenfruin”)
  4. Andrew Hoag (“Glengarry’s March”)
  5. Jennifer Epton (“Corrienessan’s Salute”)
  6. Jeremy Freeman (“Beloved Scotland”)

William Ross Challenge Targe for MSR

  1. Paula Glendinning (“Balmoral Highlanders,” “Dora MacLeod,” and “The Brown Haired Maid”)
  2. Derek Milloy (“Major Manson’s Farewell to Clachantrushal,” “Caledonian Canal,” and “Ca’ the Ewes”)
  3. Jimmy Mitchell (“Hugh Kennedy,” “Cabar Feidh,” and “Malcolm Johnston”)
  4. James P. Troy (“Mrs. John MacColl,” “Susan MacLeod,” and “John Morrison of Assynt House”)

Donald MacLeod Memorial 6/8 Marches

  1. James P. Troy (“Isabel T. MacDonald” and “The Glendaruel Highlanders”)
    Prize: The Donald MacLeod Memorial Silver Buckle created by Brian Yates
  2. Derek Milloy (“Bengullion” and “The Town at Bull River”)
  3. Jennifer Epton (“John Gordon of Drummuie” and “MacDonald of the Isles”)
  4. Paula Glendinning (“Mrs. MacDonald of Uig” and “Mrs. Lily Christie”)
  5. Andrew Hoag (“P/M Sam Scott” and “Kirkhill”)
  6. Ken McKeveny (“Rab’s Wedding” and “Leaving Port Askaig”)

Dress and Deportment

  • Derek Milloy and Paula Glendinning

1993 Competitors

  • John Chalmers (Brewster, New York)
  • Jennifer Epton (Summerside, Prince Edward Island)
  • Jeremy Freeman (Houston, Texas)
  • Paula Glendinning (Ashton, Maryland)
  • Catriona Hill (Belleville, New Jersey)
  • Andrew Hoag (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
  • Angela Mackay (Hanover, Ontario)
  • Kenneth J. McKeveny (Raleigh, North Carolina)
  • Derek Milloy (Burnaby, British Columbia)
  • Jimmy Mitchell (Houston, Texas)
  • James P. Troy (Victoria, British Columbia)

If you have more details about the 1993 contest, or info on any other year of the Nicol-Brown, please email to help us fill in the blanks.