Nicol - Brown Amateur Invitational

The 18th Nicol-Brown Amateur Invitational
Piping Competition

October 7, 2000
Trinity College
Hartford, Connecticut

Judge: Alasdair Gillies

Overall Nicol-Brown Championship

  1. Glenn Brown
    Prize: Airfare to compete in London in November 2001, donated by the New Hampshire Highland Games.
  2. Andrew Douglas
  3. Erin McCarthy

Robert Nicol-Robert Brown Chalice for Piobaireachd

  1. Erin McCarthy (“The Rout of Glenfruin”)
  2. Andrew Douglas (“The Groat”)
  3. Glenn Brown (“The Massacre of Glencoe”)
  4. Patrick Regan (“The King’s Taxes”)
  5. Doug MacRae (“MacCrimmon’s Sweetheart”)
  6. Lionel Tupman (“Salute to Donald”)

William Ross Challenge Targe MSR Competition

  1. Glenn Brown
    (“P/M John Stewart,” “Cabar Feidh,” “The Sound of Sleat”)
  2. Andrew Douglas
    (“Ross-shire Volunteers,” “Atholl Cummers,” “Loch Carron”)
  3. Tristan L. Wilson
    (“John MacDonald of Glencoe” “Cabar Feidh,” “Traditional”)
  4. Elizabeth Tomlik
    (“Leaving Lunga,” “Maggie Cameron,” “Lord MacDonald”)
  5. Lionel Tupman
    (“John MacColl’s March to Kilbowie Cottage,” “Lady Loudon,” “Miss Proud”)
  6. Andrea Boyd
    (“Angus Campbell’s Farewell to Stirling,” “Arniston Castle,” “Lt. Col. D.J.S. Murray”)

Donald MacLeod Memorial 6/8 Marches

  1. Andrew J. Hayes
    (“Mrs. MacDonald of Uig” and “Capt. Craig Brown”)
    Prize: The Donald MacLeod Memorial Silver Buckle created by Brian Yates
  2. Glenn Brown
    (“Kenneth J. MacLeod,” “John Gordon of Drummuie”)
  3. Alison Dunsire
    (“Angus MacKinnon,” “Dovecoat Park”)
  4. Andrew Douglas
    (“Invermark’s Welcome to J. Reid Maxwell,” “Duncan McGillivray, Chief Steward”)
  5. Lionel Tupman
    (“Bruce Gandy’s Farewell to the Iron Horse,” “General Montgomery”)
  6. Erin McCarthy
    (“Ross Battery,” “Bengullion”)

Dress and Deportment

  • Elizabeth Tomlik and Lionel Tupman

2000 Competitors

  • Andrea Boyd (Antigonish, Nova Scotia)
  • Glenn Brown (Milton, Ontario)
  • Andrew Douglas (Marietta, New York)
  • Alison Dunsire (Camano Island, Washington)
  • Andrew J. Hayes (Slingerlands, New York)
  • Doug MacRae (London, Ontario)
  • Matt Malloch (South Weymouth, Massachusetts)
  • Erin McCarthy (Fort Ann, New York)
  • Patrick Regan (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
  • Elizabeth Tomlik (Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia)
  • Lionel Tupman (Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario)
  • Tristan L. Wilson (Centerville, Kansas)