Nicol - Brown Amateur Invitational

The 23rd Nicol-Brown Amateur Invitational
Piping Competition

October 8, 2005
Alumnae Chapel
Emma Willard School
Troy, New York

Judge: Donald MacPhee

Overall Nicol-Brown Championship

  1. Colin Lee
    Prizes: a kilt donated by Sandy St. James; and airfare to compete in London in 2006 donated by the New Hampshire Highland Games.
  2. Alex Gandy
    Prize: a scholarship for room, board, and tuition for a week at the 2006 Invermark Summer School of his choice.
  3. Cameron Scott
  4. Kevin Dugas

Robert Nicol-Robert Brown Chalice for Piobaireachd

  1. Colin Lee (“The Desperate Battle”)
    Prizes: a bound Piobaireachd Society Collection donated by Tone Czar Bagpipes; and a marble-based desk set.
  2. Kevin Dugas (“The Battle of the Pass of Crieff”)
  3. Scott McIntosh  (“The Battle of Auldearn” #1)
  4. Cameron Scott  (“The Old Men of the Shells” #1)
  5. Alex Gandy  (“The King’s Taxes”)
  6. Amber Blair  (“Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay”)

William Ross Challenge Targe for March, Strathspey and Reel

  1. Alex Gandy
    (“Mrs. John MacColl,” “Arniston Castle,” “Thompson’s Dirk”)
    Prizes: a blackwood practice chanter with a moose antler ferrule and sole donated by Cushing Bagpipes; and a rosewood desk set.
  2. Cameron Scott
    (“John MacDonald of Glencoe,” “The Caledonian Society of London,” and “The Smith of Chilliechassie”)
  3. Kevin Dugas
    (“John MacColl’s March to Kilbowie Cottage,” “The Bob of Fettercairn,” and “Roderick MacDonald’s Reel”)
  4. Scott McIntosh
    (“Kantara to El Arish,” “The Ewe with the Crooked Horn,” and “Lt. Col. D.J.S. Murray”)
  5. Colin Lee
    (“Abercairney Highlanders,” “Susan MacLeod,” and “The Sheepwife”)
  6. Kirsten Campbell
    (“Millbank Cottage,” “Lady Mackenzie of Gareloch,” and “Ca’ the Ewes”)

Donald MacLeod Memorial 6/8 Marches

  1. Colin Lee (“Frank Thompson” and “Ellenorr”)
    Prizes: a silver buckle designed by Brian Yates and finished by Walker Metalsmiths; and a letter opener made by Collier Hyams with a beaded and combed Cocobolo handle and a Red Deer Stag antler mount.
  2. Alex Gandy
    (“Farewell to the Creeks” and “Ballincrieff”)
  3. Cameron Scott
    (“Meg MacRae” and “The High Island”)
  4. Ashleigh Weeden
    (“Redford Cottage” and “The High Island”)
  5. Scott McIntosh
    (“The Heights of Cassino” and “Fairview Cottage”)
  6. Kevin Dugas
    (“Pipe Major Sam Scott” and “John D. Burgess”)

Dress and Deportment

(judged by Eric MacNeill)

  1. Marc DuBois
    Prize: a copy of The Glendinning Collection of Bagpipe Music.

2005 Competitors

  • Johnny Bassett (Canterbury, New Hampshire)
  • Robbie Beaton (Scotia, New York)
  • Amber Blair (Greensburg, Pennsylvania)
  • Kirsten Campbell (Oshawa, Ontario)
  • Marc DuBois (Amsterdam, New York)
  • Kevin M. Dugas (Inverness, Nova Scotia)
  • Alex Gandy (Dartmouth, Nova Scotia)
  • Colin Lee (Surrey, British Columbia)
  • Scott McIntosh (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
  • Cameron Scott (Davis, California)
  • Ashleigh Weeden (Ariss, Ontario)